Study Time!!!!!!!!!

2 Timothy 2:15 reads;

“Study to show yourself approved to God, a workman that needs not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” (AKJV)…..

or put another way;

“Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth” (ESV)

Over the next month I’m going to have my head in the books and in the Bible as best as I can due to the fact that, like every avid reader, I’ve bought more books than I probably should have! For that I guess I should repent! But from hereon in I’m gonna set myself a task to read, read, read. At least 4 hours a day. I’ve become completely turned off to much of the rubbish thats on SKY TV these days, cos, let’s face it…there is so much nonsense on there its unreal! The only good thing are the Sports Channels, some of the News channels  and the Documentary Channels!! I’m currently reading the McChey’ne Bible in a Year plan so i’m trying to stick to that (you can view this plan over on YouVersion.com) and a number of other excellent books.

Two of the mountain of books before me are written by the modern “Daddy” of recent Church History, Iain H. Murray. Murray’s books are a delight to feast on as they are well researched and stimulate both the heart and the mind. The two titles of his I will be reading are “The Old Evangelicalism; Old Truths for a New Awakening” and Pentecost Today?

Another book on my list is “On Knowing Christ” by the late great Jonathan Edwards. Jesus is the cornerstone of all creation and growing in my knowledge and understanding of Him is my hearts great desire as the more I grow in my knowledge and understanding of Him, the more the emotions of my heart will be stirred to love Him as He is worthy of.

Charles Leiter’s book “Justification and Regeneration” is another title that I wish to devour. I’ve read the 1st chapter and it is excellent thus far. These two great doctrines are so misunderstood and neglected by so many Christians today much to the detriment of the body of Christ as a whole. They reveal the glory of God in salvation, that he justifies the wicked through Christ, and show that without a work of sovereign grace in regenerating our hearts of stone, man is without hope.

Finally three other titles lay amongst my pile. They are The Trials of Theology; Becoming a Proven Worker in a Dangerous Business, The Seduction of Christianity; Spiritual Discernment in the Last Days and Faith Undone; The Emergent Church, a New Reformation or End Times Deception?

I will do a short review on each book as I finish them and post it up here for FYI. One more thing…..reading is good. That’s a given, but if it’s not done to and for the glory of God it’s wasted. If it’s just for head knowledge, it’s wasted. If it’s just to win a debate, it’s wasted. The main goal of our reading should always be to grow in our knowledge, understanding and love of God the outworking of that being that He gets glorified. So here goes nothin………..

Leave a Reply

