Say What?

“At the beginning of my missionary career I said that if predestination were true I could not be a missionary. Now after 20 years of struggling with the hardness of the human heart, I say I could never be a missionary unless I believed in the doctrine of predestination”

(John Alexander, former Inter-Varsity President)

“And i have other sheep that are not of this fold. I must bring them also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock and one shepherd” (John 10:14-16)

“I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours. All mine are yours, and yours are mine, and I am glorified in them” (John 17:9-10)

One comment on “Say What?

  1. I love that quote by Alexander! I too once struggled with the doctrines of grace, but the Lord brought me through to see the truth of them in the Scriptures. I think the stinking point for most evangelical Christians is the depth of man’s depravity. The Humanistic concept of “Man is basically good” has poisoned their thinking, leading them to believe men are capable of pulling themselves up by their boot-straps, without the sovereign and all-mighty regenerating power of the Holy Spirit. This has essentially led to a shallowness in evangelism, whereby men have their heart-strings played on and they are manipulated to make some professing decision. How an evangelist can dare give glory to God after such evangelistic strategies is beyond me. However, all glory is due to God, and only when the Church returns to this biblical truth will we see a reformation, not only in theology, but in our evangelism.

Leave a Reply

